These things have I written unto you that believe on the name of the Son of God; that ye may know that ye have eternal life, and that ye may believe on the name of the Son of God. -- I John 5:13
God's Gift of Eternal Life

Biblical Perspectives - Go Back

"The Ten Commandments"
Key Passage: Exodus 20:1-17
Evangelist Clifford M. Smith, Th.D.

The "Ten Commandments" along with many more commandments were handed down to Moses on Mt. Sinai from God Almighty(Jehovah or Yaweh). Moses is known biblically and historically as the deliverer of the Jews(God's Chosen People) from Egypt (After four hundred years there). He is also known as the spiritual leader, the law-giver and prophet of God for Israel(Family of Father" Abraham", Son "Isaac" and Grandson "Jacob"-Known as "Israel"). The twelve sons of Jacob (Israel) were divided into the "Twelve Tribes of Israel", which Moses led for forty(40) years in the wilderness in pursuit of the "Promise Land." It is believed by most Bible scholars, that Moses was the author (By verbal inspiration of God-Exodus 24:3,4) of the Pentateuch(First five books of the Bible) and the ninetieth (90th) Psalm. Remember, the "Ten Commandments" are the first ten commandments mentioned, but there are also many more. Exodus chapters 20, 21, 22 and 23 are the commandments of the "Lord thy God"(The Hebrew name here means- "Everlasting Eternal Almighty"). These commandments are classified as "Moral Laws" (Laws about God's Character- For all mankind to live by and that NEVER CHANGE), instead of "Ceremonial Laws"(Which were ONLY for the Jews to follow, until the "Messiah"- The Lord Jesus Christ) perfected and fulfilled (Hebrews 10:1-14) the "Law of Moses." IMPORTANT NOTE: Even though, the "ceremonial laws" pertained to the Jews at a particular time in history, many of these laws are full of great "wisdom" to live by. I encouraged you, to read the "Key Passage"of this article.

The "Ten Commandments" is also referred as the "Decalogue"(In the Hebrew, it is named the "ten words"). Each individual commandment's sentence is closed out with a "period"(.) mark. Two of the commandments are just "straight forward" commandments( The 4th and The 5th) and the others have a "negative emphasis" (Thou shalt not). The following is the list of the "Ten Commandments":
  1. "Thou shalt have no other gods before me!"
  2. "Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image or bow before it!"
  3. "Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain!"
  4. " Remember, the sabbath day, to keep it holy!"
  5. "Honour thy father and thy mother!"
  6. "Thou shalt not kill (Murder)!"
  7. "Thou shalt not commit adultery (Fornication while married)!"
  8. "Thou shalt not steal!"
  9. "Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor (To Lie)!"
  10. "Thou shalt not covet any thing of thy neighbor's!"

In conclusion, the "Ten Commandments" are from God Almighty. There are "judgments"/ "penalties" for disobeying God (It can be very "harsh"). When God says it, "HE" really means it! Remember, these basic "moral" laws/guidelines were given to mankind, to help us live honorable and peaceable before God. I pray, that you will choose to live by these "Ten Commandments", that your life will also be blessed of God!